Taxes are our money

September 10, 2010

Just now Obama said that extending the Bush tax cuts would “give” an average of $100K back to millionaires. While I agree with him that the tax cuts should not be extended, I don’t like the rhetoric of Democrats on taxes. The money we pay in taxes is OUR money, taken by force by the government. I know that sounds hysterically right wing, but if you fail to pay taxes guys with guns will throw you in jail. This unfortunate attitude among Democrats causes them to act like they’ve got a pile of free money that they can redistribute as They see fit. The phrasing I would prefer is tax cuts will “take less” money, rather than tax cuts will “give” money, to the American people. I want government officials to feel deeply that they must spend MY money carefully. That’s not the way things work now.

Leave a comment