Outsource Your Life

June 26, 2007

This post refers to the book The 4-hour Work Week, which is in part about outsourcing personal tasks. What tasks can you outsource and how much time would it save? It varies for each person, of course. Since my time is worth little, it makes no sense to outsource. My wage slave friends, OTOH, would need to outsource more. Here’s a quick list:

  • Purchasing groceries and cooking consume a large amount of my time. Since I’m an epicure, I spend 4hrs/week shopping and 2hrs/day cooking. I could order groceries online, cook larger batches of food and eat out more. This would save a lot of time.
  • I spend 3hrs/week cleaning. I could hire a cleaner once per week. If I ate in restaurants, then I wouldn’t have to clean up the kitchen every day.
  • I’ve already setup automatic bill pay for most things.
  • I should select a set of index funds into which I add more money monthly.
  • I waste a lot of time skimming through RSS feeds. I’d rather use an edited RSS feed. If you read a bunch of tech feeds and select the interesting items, then I can skim the edited list much faster.
  • When I purchase something substantial, I do a lot of online research. It’d be easier if I could find/buy a purchasing guide. For example, I had to learn all about LCD technology to help select which monitor to buy.
  • I’d like to hire a tester in India to write test scripts & more to thoroughly test my code. We’d be a 24hr coding team.

I can’t think of many things that I could outsource over the computer. One example (I think from the author of that book) is that he hired someone to handle all correspondence with women on a dating site. I don’t think it worked out well, but it is brilliant. It might be better to hire someone to write only the initial email because the failure rate is so high. I wish I had the balls to try this. Any other ideas?

One Response to “Outsource Your Life”

  1. chris sivori Says:

    I recommend wash and fold for laundry. I never do my own laundry anymore and it’s like a dollar a pound here.


Leave a Reply

