Slacker Manifesto

May 3, 2007

I usually put the minimum effort required for reasonable success. I decided long ago that the marginal cost of increased success was not worth the very large increase in effort. Without trying at all, I earned a doctorate and was offered some fairly good jobs. I would have had to bust my ass to compete with other PhDs for academic positions at top schools. Those guys are much smarter and work much harder. If I failed, I’d be right back in my current position anyway. So I determined that it’s easier to avoid that stiff competition, relax and coast right into my current spot. But I’ve been slacking off for so long that it’s hard for me to get motivated to do anything. That’s one reason why I procrastinate: I rarely feel like anything is terribly important. And that’s how I became a slacker.

Leave a Reply

