Procrastination

April 2, 2007

I have a severe problem with procrastination. I’ve read books and tried various tricks to no avail. I do manage to get things done eventually, but it’s always a crazy sprint to beat a final deadline. I’m sure it’s just a stupid psychological avoidance technique so I don’t have to admit that I’m not as good as I wish I were. If I do things at the last minute, then I can say my work was good enough, but I could have done better if I weren’t so damn lazy. I need to quit doing this. I need some discipline. So I’m inaugurating a new tag to think about procrastination and a solution. I’ll bottle the solution and sell it for $19.99 on the Home Shopping Network. Now I need to get started.

2 Responses to “Procrastination”

  1. pyrogyne Says:

    There’s nothing like panic as an antidote to procrastination. Unfortunately, I don’t think there’s an easy fix. Believe me, I’m still working on one. I think the only real solution is to develop a habit of non-procrastination, and this takes practice.

    If you come up with an easier solution, let me know. I’ll buy stock.

  2. cinemelo Says:

    I usually procrastinate like crazy. The only reason I’m getting past it this week (and even largely without procrastination I still do it a little- we need our fix) is because I have absolutely no time to waste this week. Too much other stuff to do.
    Make yourself really busy, and see if that works.


Leave a Reply

