Shaving hurts

February 21, 2007

I’ve always used an electric razor to shave, and I’m currently using a Braun 7505. However, The Straight Dope said a razor is better, so I’ve been trying a Mach 3 Turbo for a month. I shave after showering, put on plenty of shaving cream, rinse the blade between strokes, etc. Most importantly, I shave with the grain, not against. I got serious cuts and razor burn when I tried going against the grain. Even with the grain, I manage to cut myself around the chin and nose. The results have been terrible. It looks like I’ve got 5 o’clock shadow and it’s scratchy when I rub against the grain. After I shave, I can remove the leftover stubble with my electric, which shows that my electric gives me a closer shave than a razor. So why does everything I read contradict my experience? My does everyone say a razor is better? Other men may be comparing razors with cheap, inferior electrics. I could be shaving incorrectly, so I’ll keep trying for another month. I’ll record the final results later.

Leave a Reply

