VMware Player hates me

June 20, 2006

VMware Player caused my DHCP client to freak out and mysteriously refuse to assign a default gateway to the connection. Even though the client got an IP address, it couldn’t lookup domain names via nslookup. But wait… the same client could connect to other networks in my building, just not mine! Once I uninstalled Player the client worked fine. Isn’t that freaky?

This Ubuntu vmware image runs with Player, but not VMware Server. On Server it inexplicably hangs when booting linux. I would expect the core virtualization code is the same for both VMware products, but why does it fail on one but not the other? I wanted to build images on one machine with Server and use them on others with Player. I hope they fix this soon because I can’t go back to VirtualPC.

Leave a Reply

